OHSAA Circle of Champions

Administrator's Corner



Media/News Releases





About the Circle of Champions

Beginning with the 2006-07 school year in conjunction with the Ohio High School Athletic Association centennial, the OHSAA has selected individuals who had prominent roles in the history of Ohio interscholastic athletics to become members of the OHSAA's Circle of Champions. The honorees not only had outstanding achievements at the high school level, but also have had outstanding achievements after their prep careers ended, have displayed outstanding character and serve as role models. The members are honored each year at the boys state basketball tournament in March.

Circle of Champions Members


Jessica Davenport

Abby Johnston

Jim Paxson

John Paxson           


Chris Spielman

Michael Redd

Earle Bruce

Paul Warfield

Rex Kern





Dick Snyder

Barry Clemens

Bob Hoying

LaVonna Martin-Floreal

Harry “Butch” Reynolds

Gene Tenace



Wayne Embry
Jim Houston
Harrison Dillard
Madeline Manning Mims
Phil Niekro
John Havlicek


Tony Trabert
Al Oliver
Jesse Owens
Howard "Hopalong" Cassady
Jerry Lucas



Robin Freeman
Larry Siegfried
Mary Wineberg
Dick Schafrath 

LeBron James


Bill Willis
Galen Cisco
Susan Nash Sugar
Jim Lachey



Todd Blackledge
Jay Burson
Dean Chance
Archie Griffin
Bill Hosket
Dante Lavelli
Cindy Noble Hauserman
Katie Smith
Clark Kellogg