Home|SEDAB|About the SEDAB|Friend of Youth Award Recipients

Friend of Youth Award Recipients

Friend of Youth Award Recipients

Download the Friend of Youth Application

Class of 2019
Mike Werry, Belpre, (Timer) 35 Years
Roger Rader, Wellston, (Scorer), 30 years

Class of 2018
Michele Gorby, Fairland, (Scorer) 36 years
Brenda Johnson, Southern, (Ticket Taker, volunteer) 20 years

Class of 2017
Ernie Buts,  North Adams, (Scorer), 22 years
Roger Hosler, Logan, (Ticket Seller), 35 years
Dick Woolison, Ohio University,  (Timer at Convo),  50 years
Steve Thomas, Ohio University , (Timer at Convo ), 35 years
Randy Dillinger, Alexander, (Scorer at Convo), 35 year

Class of 2016
Craig Haney, Dawson Bryant (announcer), 20 years
Becky Zimmerman, Fairland  (ticket taker), 37 years
Carl Wooten, Jackson (chain crew,scorer), 37 years/27 years
Randy Sizemore, Wellston (Timer), 28 years
William “Bill” Shope, Sciotoville Community (Volunteer) 25 years
Tom Purtell, Leesburg Fairfield (Scorer), 35 years
Jerry Collins, Logan Elm (Chain Crew), 55 years

Class of 2015
Harold “Buzz” Fisher, Oak Hill (volunteer/stats), 35 years
Dan Cryder, Zane Trace (Scorekeeper) 20 years
Bill Fetters, Zane Trace (Announcer) 34 years
David Zeigler, Zane Trace (Timer) 24 years
Susie Munion, Sciotoville Community (Volunteer/Ticket Taker) 20 years
Mary Kay West, Washington Court House (Volunteer/Photographer) 50 years

Class of 2014
Dave Tawney. Gallia Academy (film/video),  50 years
Alex Mace, Unioto/Westfall/SEDAB (school and board volunteer/manager/assigner), 20+ years
Robin Wade, Southeastern  (scorekeeper/volunteer), 32 years

Class of 2013
Joanne Benner, Zane trace (volunteer ticket seller/taker), 40 years
Glenn “Shorty” Hinton, Zane Trace (volunteer worker in many areas), 30 years

Class of 2012
Rick McKnight, Ironton (announcer), 21 years
Terry Britton, Hillsboro (chain crew), 24 years
Tom Pennington, Hillsboro (chain crew), 22 years
Fred Ruth, Warren (announcer), 20 years

Class of 2011
Tom Day, Chillicothe, announcer 21 years
Larry Maynard, Ports. West, scorer, 28 years
Ron Jackson, Minford, scorer/timer 30 years
Jim Gilbert, Minford, timer 47 years
Jon Wickline, New Boston, announcer 34 years
Rick Bond, Northwest, timer 25 years 
James Kline, Ironton St Joseph, announcer 23 years  

Class of 2010
Dr. Gerald Vallee, Gallia Academy HS, Team Physician, 41 years
Odie O’Donnell, Gallia Academy HS, Scorekeeper, 50 yrs & Announcer 40 years
Toby Helton, Waverly HS, Chain Crew, 33 years
Tim “Bull” Durham, Waverly HS, Chain Crew, 33 years
Larry Huffman, Warren HS, Timer, 22 years

Secretary’s footnote.
While all honorees are dedicated to their respective school’s athletic program, a special note regarding Dr Gerald Vallee’s service is warranted.  During his 41 years as team physician for the varsity boys’ basketball team, Dr. Vallee has never missed a home or away Blue Devils’ game.  It’s 888 in a row and still counting.  He even left his daughter’s wedding rehearsal early to get to a game on time.

Class of 2009
Mike Null, Symmes Valley HS, Timer 32 years
Bill Riley, Chillicothe HS, Announcer 27 years
Greg Kroft, Marietta HS, Announcer 22 years
Bill Bonar, Marietta HS, Timer 23 years
Galen Neal, Hillsboro HS, Scorer 45 years
Ralph Hutchinson, Minford HS, Scorer 49 years
Jesse Mount, Lynchburg-Clay HS, Scorer 61 years
Pat Gibson, Athens HS, Scorer 31 years
John Mitchem, Warren HS, Scorer 25 years
Larry Baumgard, Warren HS, Timer 21 years
Jim Soulsby, Meigs HS, Announcer 30 years
Jerry Hawk, Vinton County HS, Timer/Scorer 25 years
Karen Yeager, McClain HS, Scorer 30 years
Larry McKenzie, Sheridan HS, Scorer 25 years
Oran Adams, Waterford HS, Scorer 55 years
Robert “Moon” Mullins, Portsmouth West HS, Announcer 23 years

Secretary’s footnote.  
All Friend of Youth plaques were presented at different games at the district basketball tournament at the Convo, most in front of the recipient’s fans.  Each recipient received a wonderful ovation for their years of service.  If you total the years of service for the 16 recipients, it totals 514 years!   Some other interesting facts surfaced as well.  Many of the awardees covered multiple sports, doing two or three sports each year.  Jesse Mount, the longest serving selectee (61 yrs.), also drove the team bus for 44 years.  Ralph Hutchinson served on the school board for 24 years and umpired Little League baseball for 42 years.  Jim Soulsby sings the National Anthem at all home games.   Several were teachers (Yeager & Adams), others led booster clubs (Riley, Hawk, Neal, & Null).  Oh yes, the “Moon” nickname was for moonshine of which he apparently sampled from time to time.  Frankly, the Board was humbled by the dedication of these fine folks who are the essence of the volunteer spirit found in no doubt every high school in the state.  We were in awe of their commitment to our youth and stand indebted to them.